Quarterly Bulletin Q4 – 2019

Tuesday, December 31st, 2019,

While we would have liked to add a few percentage points to the fund’s return for 2019, but for that we would have had to relax our risk management criteria, and that was not something we were willing to do. In a period of very low interest rates, the search for yield continued to drive […]

Quarterly Bulletin Q3 – 2019

Tuesday, November 5th, 2019,

Summer began as if the financial markets would be relatively calm. The recovery in mergers and acquisitions, which had started in the previous quarter, quickly lost momentum. But the markets still delivered some surprises, as we know can happen. Air Canada announced its intention to acquire all the outstanding shares in Air Transat, and bond […]

Quarterly Bulletin Q2 – 2019

Wednesday, July 31st, 2019,

Not all accidents on the financial markets are avoidable. There were situations in the last quarter that tested our resilience. But once again, by diversifying the overall portfolio well and focusing on arbitrage opportunities day-in and day-out, we were able to post results that are, at the very least, acceptable.

Quarterly Bulletin Q1 – 2019

Friday, June 7th, 2019,

Even though the period was marked by an unusual combination of upward trends, on both the equity and bond markets, and by a remarkable about-face by the U.S. Federal Reserve (the Fed), the Amethyst Fund performed well at the start of the year. The Fund’s three segments were able to seize opportunities and deliver attractive […]

Archives

2018

Even though the period was marked by an unusual combination of upward trends, on both the equity and bond markets, and by a remarkable about-face by the U.S. Federal Reserve (the Fed), the Amethyst Fund performed well at the start of the year. The Fund’s three segments were able to seize opportunities and deliver attractive […]

2017

In the fourth quarter, the economic and political news was marked by a synchronized global economic upsurge, rapidly expanding corporate profits, the adoption of a sweeping tax reform bill in the U.S. and somewhat eased geopolitical tensions.

2016

A multitude of risk factors have unsettled the markets during the first six months of the year.

2015

Fortunately, the North American economy continues the expansionary momentum en-joyed over the last 5 years. Despite some ambiguous data, the improving economic conditions are palpable. We do not see any signs of a pending recession, therefore North American equity markets should do well. The risks perceived by investors are related primarily to three concerns.

2014

Q3 2014 allowed some financial terms, absent from our lexicon for several years to resurface. Indeed, despite globalization which has been accelerating for decades, many economists and investors are now once again arguing in favor of the “decoupling” of economies to the benefit of the US and UK and to the detriment of Europe and […]

Bulletin Trimestriel Q3 – 2019

mardi, novembre 5th, 2019,

L’été s’annonçait plutôt calme. La reprise de l’activité de fusions et acquisitions, amorcée au trimestre précédent, s’est essoufflée aussi vite. Mais comme c’est souvent le cas, les marchés financiers réservaient quelques surprises. Il y a eu, d’une part, l’annonce par Air Canada de son intention d’acquérir la totalité des actions d’Air Transat et, d’autre part, […]

Bulletin Trimestriel Q2 – 2019

mercredi, juillet 31st, 2019,

Les accidents sur les marchés financiers ne sont pas tous évitables. Certaines situations ont testé notre résilience au cours du dernier trimestre. Mais une fois de plus, une bonne diversification de l’ensemble du portefeuille et une attention quotidienne aux possibilités d’arbitrage nous ont permis d’obtenir un résultat à tout le moins correct.

Bulletin Trimestriel Q1 – 2019

vendredi, juin 7th, 2019,

Bien que la période ait été marquée par une combinaison inhabituelle de hausses significatives, à la fois sur les marchés d’actions et sur les marchés d’obligations, ainsi que par une étonnante volte-face de la Réserve fédérale américaine (Fed), le Fonds Améthyste a bien tiré son épingle du jeu en ce début d’année. Les trois segments […]

2018

La volatilité boursière est devenue telle à la mi-décembre qu’une atmosphère de peur régnait sur les places financières. Malgré une reprise amorcée la veille de Noël, les marchés n’en ont pas moins encaissé des pertes record pour un mois de décembre, et ils ont enregistré une baisse significative pour l’ensemble de l’année. Le rendement total […]

2017

Une croissance économique mondiale synchronisée, des bénéfices des entreprises en forte expansion, l’adoption d’une réforme fiscale majeure aux États-Unis et des tensions géopolitiques qui s’apaisent quelque peu ont marqué l’actualité économique et politique du quatrième trimestre.

2016

L’élément marquant du dernier trimestre 2016 aura été sans contredit l’élection de Donald Trump à la Maison-Blanche…

2015

Malgré un trimestre positif, nous avons fait face à une marée descendante au sein du marché des débentures convertibles. Faible volatilité, offre réduite et dans certains cas valorisations trop agressives des nouvelles émissions, faiblesse du prix des matières premières et volumes transactionnels plutôt minces, se sont unis pour compliquer le trimestre.

2014

Q3 2014 aura permis de voir réapparaître des termes financiers absents du paysage depuis plusieurs années. En effet, malgré le contexte de globalisation qui s’accélère depuis des dé- cennies, plusieurs économistes et investisseurs plaident maintenant en faveur du « découplage » des économies… favorisant au passage principalement les USA et le Royaume- Uni au détriment […]